EHL Biochemistry Selected for PHAME Innovation Award

The Biochemistry team in Biomonitoring California’s Environmental Health Laboratory (EHL) has been selected by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) as the recipients of the 2014 Innovation PHAME Award.  The PHAME (Public Health Acknowledging My Efforts) Awards recognize outstanding achievements in public health by programs within CDPH. Dr. Jianwen She, Chief of the Biochemistry Section in EHL, accepted the prize on behalf of the team. Members of the EHL Biochemistry team are shown below. 

Standing from left to right: Group photo of 16 CDPH staff, including members of the Environmental Health Laboratory Biochemistry team
Dr. Indranil Sen, Dr. Wei Zou, Mr. John Chen, Dr. Simon Ip, Dr. Key-Young Choe, Dr. Ryszard Gajek, Mr. Anthony Zhou, Dr. Jianwen She (Section Chief), Dr. Jed Waldman (EHL Branch Chief), Mr. Drew Johnson (Acting Deputy Director), and Dr. Rana Zahedi.
Seated from left to right:
Dr. Yu-Chen Chang, Dr. Pami Behniwal, Ms. Qi Gavin, Dr. Ron Chapman (Director, CDPH), and Ms. Flavia Wong. 
Not pictured: Ms. Josephine Alvaran, Ms. Shirley Cao, Ms. Ying Li, Ms. Alanna Viegas, and Ms. Xirui Wang.

Drew Johnson, Acting Deputy Director for the Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion in CDPH, expressed his congratulations to EHL’s Biochemistry team:

“Your accomplishments stand out nationally.  [EHL’s Biochemistry team] is most notable for building a state-of-the-art laboratory from scratch and competing for and winning one of the few CDC grants to conduct this important work studying the burden of environmental chemicals to our bodies. 

Your collective abilities developing new analytical techniques in the lab resulting in our ability to measure environmental chemicals is amazing, ground breaking work.  You should all be very proud.  I thank you for being consummate public health staff changing the lives of Californians, and beyond, on a daily basis.”